Interesting situation: What will my last project be.

jbskaggsjbskaggs Posts: 647Member

I have been making games and tinkering with game making since the 1980's.

I have reached a point where I want to finish some projects. The problem is I have terminal cancer and estimated life expectancy is in days to maybe a year or so- (cancer is weird and you really cant predict how long) . I am now on hospice with more time on my hands than ever before.

The problem though is the current game I am almost 2/3's done, isnt the game I want to be my last project. But I dont know if I have time to finish one of my more desirable projects or if I want to just finish this one. As I am essentially a 1 man studio I have to create my assets, designs, code myself and this reduces my time budget even more.

I am just curious what would you do in my situation? Finish what you have, or pursue one of your more desirable projects?

Comments

• MegalomaniakMegalomaniak Posts: 4,430Admin

Well, it's no place of mine to tell you what to do, but I'd probably opt to finish the one and consider then what else could be done with it perhaps.

• newmodelsnewmodels Posts: 483Member

An option could be to finish the quickest project first. But this is only something to put into your pro and con.

• bunnydefluffbunnydefluff Posts: 54Member

Sorry to hear that OP. I would just do what I like the most without thinking about finishing it or anything. Things will be finished the moment I let it go and never look at it again.

• Erich_LErich_L Posts: 591Member

@jbskaggs said:
    The problem is I have terminal cancer

Problems? Turn that problem into lemonade. Use it mate. Work on something that lets you reflect on your life, use the opportunity to face some things or truths you didn't want to before. If it were me I'd pour the seriousness of the situation into my work: a man lying on a hospice bed who's revisiting the pivotal moments of his life.