Is Godot the right engine for my project?

HorzHorz Posts: 6Member

Hi there,
I want to create a rogue-like game with a multiplayer component. The dungeons will be procedural solo dungeons, but there should be elements that can be interchanged. The whole thing is intended as a web project.
I would like to keep the graphics simple (2D top view without great animations), but I already have the ambition to offer a lot of objects and monsters (I will probably do without animations for the most part).
So I also need a self-made monster or item editor with which I can easily create both.
I also need data storage / data management for my multiplayer elements.
In short: it's quite a big project for a beginner for me.
Since it is a hobby project, however, I have no time pressure and I have to start somewhere.
I have no experience with Godot or GDScript - but wonder if Godot was the right engine choice. It would be a shame if I were to familiarize myself with Godot now and then have to find out in a year that, for example, data management (monster data / item data per file) is problematic to implement.
Thanks for your feedback.

Comments

• cyberealitycybereality Posts: 3,714Moderator

Yeah, it should be no problem. Godot is a general purpose engine, so basically any game is possible (though maybe not with the latest AAA graphics). But for simpler 2D games or basic 3D, it should be fine.

• Erich_LErich_L Posts: 590Member

You might say it's a hobby, until you fall in love with the project/idea and then want to pour a year into it. I'd still try to focus on making a playable, dumbed down version of your idea in like a month or two. Get something done you can have a friend play, it can make all the difference.

• fire7sidefire7side Posts: 435Member