WIP Brawler

Casual Garage CoderCasual Garage Coder Posts: 54Member
edited September 2021 in Projects

Hello all,

I'm currently developing a local pvp brawler with godot. I'm a dev, not an artist so the assets (except the gorgeous blob ;p) are coming from itch.io (for more coherence, from the same artist). I've also integrated neat shaders from pend00 (https://godotshaders.com/author/pend00/). The gameplay is loosely inspired from jump'n'bump (but a bit more fast paced). So far, I've managed to code main gameplay, two "finished" levels, one "placeholder" avatar (The Pink Blob).

Working with godot has speed up a lot of stuff. I still have to insert more content, polish menus (lots of placeholder graphisms), add controller support (for now, gamers share keyboards, which can be convenient if you connect more than one keyboard to your computer).

Here are screenshots from the two "finished" levels.

My 8yo daughter is currently my main feedback (and the fact that she's enjoying the game is a good sign for me. Her suggestions are very insightful too !).

I hope to post back some animations or videos in the future.

Regards,
The Casual Garage Coder

Tags :

Comments

• GogetaXGogetaX Posts: 106Member

nice work so far..
    and i couldn't help noticing the water shader. amazing! even though its not yours. still amazing shader!

overall the map is gorgeous!

looking forward for more progress :)

• Thank you. As I've said, i'm not an artist. I've only managed to make the ugly blob and terrifying placeholders for menus.
    So, I rely on assets pack from itch.io (for which I make donations - the quality of those assets is worth it) and borrow some shaders from godotshaders. Which make me think about the mandatory credits section !

My next step is to implement different winning conditions and a true end game stat screen.
    I've also a big piece of work to do to replace the placeholders in my menus ... perhaps I should hire a graphist.

• GogetaXGogetaX Posts: 106Member