The Godot Community Forums are back up and running! Please read the the announcement post for important information on what happened. Thanks!

Data-driven enemy types generation from JSON definition file?

UnknownUserUnknownUser Posts: 0
edited September 13 in Programming

I know that the term data-driven is also used (if I'm not mistaken) for the hardware-friendly code (to avoid CPU cache misses and so on), but I'm using it with the other usual meaning: ""to be able to add content by changing only JSON (or similar) files". I don't want to start a terminology flame ^_^.

Hello, newbie here!
I would like to generate different enemy types based on a JSON like this (take it as a dummy example, not as a strict specification):

enemies.json

[
  { "name": "basic",
    "spritePath": "sprites/basic.png",
    "components": [
      { "name": "health",   "value": 100 },
      { "name": "movement", "type": "chase" },
      { "name": "attack",   "type": "mele", "power": 10 },
    ... ]
  },
  { "name": "boss",
    "spritePath": "sprites/boss.png",
    "components": [
      { "name": "health",   "value": 1000 },
      { "name": "movement", "type": "complex_movement" },
      { "name": "attack",   "type": "mele",  "power": 30 },
      { "name": "attack",   "type": "range", "power": 15 },
    ... ]
  },
... ]

Is there any resource with info on this? I've been looking for the last two days and haven't found anything. But I've never worked with Godot, so maybe I'm missing something obvious.

Clarification: I am not asking how to read the JSON file, I'm sure that's a trivial task. I am asking for some guide to implement the systems to compose the different enemy nodes. I know that, regarding the communication between nodes, you need take in to account some good practices and I don't know the right way to implement this kind of decoupled components.