Tri-state blended fog of war

SpacedCowboySpacedCowboy Posts: 1Member
in 2D

Hi :)

Newbie here. I've been (up until now) coding in SDL and have been thinking about porting to Godot, since I'm very interested in using compute shaders cross-platform in 4.0 ...

I've been getting my head around nodes etc, but I'm having some difficulty trying to figure out the render-to-texture story. The prime reason I'm interested is the fog-of-war in the post-title. The effect I'm after is basically what I already have in SDL ...

... where there are 3 areas: black (unexplored), darkened (been there, but it's currently out of range to see) and lit (what I can see right now). There's an intensity ramp between all of these, they're not boolean states.

In SDL I do:

• Render screen-sized chunk of [map] to frame buffer {BLENDMODE_NONE}

Start off by copying the screen-sized map to the screen. This is what will "show through" the fog

• Render screen-sized chunk of [fog-of-war] to [lights] {BLENDMODE_NONE}

Copy the same location/area of the fog-of-war texture to a temporary working space

• Render [maxed-fog] into [lights] for each player {BLEND_MAX}

The maxed-fog is a gaussian blur that would fill the 800x800 pixel texture, max intensity at the centre, rendered as if it were 0..255 for intensity but any pixel over intensity 96 is capped at 96. Think of it like "chopping off" the top of the 2D gaussian curve, it's table-top mountain. It's important that this is done for all players before we...

• Render screen-sized [lights] to [fog-of-war] {BLENDMODE_NONE}

Now that we have what we want to store in the fog-of-war (to provide the 'seen but not currently visible' effect for the current state), copy that entire RGBA back into the fog of war. This is wasteful of texture space for what is a single intensity channel, but SDL only uses 32-bit textures as far as I can tell.

• Render [full-range-fog] into [lights] for each player {BLEND_MAX}