Animated controls

msnawemsnawe Posts: 2Member
edited May 23 in GUI

I am new to godot so learning how to use the various nodes available on a first projet.

I am planning to make a simple game consisting of several cards placed face down. Then choosing cards to find the matching pairs. then place new cards face down and play again.

To make it easier, I use Texture buttons for the cards. (would you use something else?) . So I start back loading the back cover texture on all the cards in the grid. Then when someone clicks on a card (texture button) the signal leads to a call back function that loads the front card picture.

This works but when I have a winning pair, I would like to highlight these cards (eventually animate by blinking them or something like this). But it seems that:

• I can not draw on the texture from the initial callback context following the press event. I can only draw from the _draw function.
  • when I move code from the callback to the _draw function, I have to resort to variables to condition whether to draw or not in _draw. is it how we are supposed to do this in Godot?
  • I can not get a timer timeout to work. The function just continues without waiting for the timeout signal.

I am using something like this (t being a timer node)

func wait (s):  
    print('wait ' + str(s))
    t.set_wait_time(s)
    t.set_one_shot(true)
    t.start()
    yield(t, "timeout")
    print('timeout ' + str(s))  

Any reason for this?

Comments

• TwistedTwiglegTwistedTwigleg Posts: 2,635Admin

Welcome to the forums @msnawe!

@msnawe said:
    I can not draw on the texture from the initial callback context following the press event. I can only draw from the _draw function.

Yeah, unfortunately you can only draw to a CanvasItem node in the _draw function. You will need to call the update() function in your callback to trigger the _draw function being called, and then make the adjustments there.