Adding content to containers - sizes, margins

ricodricod Posts: 13Member
edited May 10 in GUI

First, I'm really new to Control nodes like Containers. So far I've only done the step by step tutorial of the docs.

main problem : I don't understand the behavior of control nodes, how changing some settings auto changes others

Trying to achieve : Panel that shows the base palette of an image with labels like name, percentage of total, etc. Dynamically filled, so panel needs to shrink and grow based on content.

test setup scene tree:
(root) Node2D with script

• AnimatedSprite node
  • instanced PalettePanel scene

PalettePanel scene tree (attached):
(root) Panel, full rect layout, x position offset so it always appears on the right side of the sprite. size:

• MarginContainer, center layout, anchors are all 0.5, custom constatns : 4 pixels margins all sides
  • HBoxContainer, I want 2 columns at the moment : color rects on the left, percentage labels on the right
  • 2 VSplitContainers. This is where a lot happens that I don't get, mainly because I duplicate the color rect and label depending on the amount of unique colors of the sprite.
  • first has a color rect, second a label with dynamic font resource

Script (haven't touched panel yet, focusing on the columns right now) :

var palette = get_color_palette(frame0.get_data(), 0) # dictionary.
    var keys = palette.keys() # Colors
    var values = palette.values() # integers, amount of pixels with that color
    var total = 0.0
    for val in values:
        total += val
    var y = 0
    var cr := $Panel/MarginContainer/HBoxContainer/VSplitContainer/ColorRect
    var lbl := $Panel/MarginContainer/HBoxContainer/VSplitContainer2/Label
    var v_container2 = $Panel/MarginContainer/HBoxContainer/VSplitContainer2
    cr.rect_size = Vector2(16, 3)
    for key in keys:
        if y == 0:
            cr.color = key
            var val : int= palette.get(key)
            var percentage : float = (val / total) * 100