Get length of Audio/Video (Media) in seconds?

mrwappamrwappa Posts: 2Member

I am currently running Godot 3.2, using AudioStreamPlayer and VideoPlayer to play Audio and Video.

In the docs for Godot 3.1 there is a section for AudioStream where it describes a get_length() method that returns length of an audio stream in seconds.
Is there any similiar solution for AudioStreamPlayer and VideoPlayer in Godot 3.2 so that I can get the duration of those two media types?

Tags :

Comments

• MegalomaniakMegalomaniak Posts: 2,884Admin
    edited April 8

Deleted the duplicate topic, in the future don't be afraid to just contact us admins if you need help adding tags. But on that note, the little gear icon to the right of the title should allow you to edit the topic and add tags.

No worry though, it's a small thing.

• jbrooks79jbrooks79 Posts: 2,241Premoderated

I am a total noob, and have never seen this part of documents before, but here is docus for AudioStreamPlayer, here is first link . .

https://docs.godotengine.org/en/stable/classes/class_audiostreamplayer.html

It says there's a sub-function, under AudioStreamPlayer called get_playback_position(), here is what it says . .

float get_playback_position ( )

Returns the position in the AudioStream in seconds.

https://docs.godotengine.org/en/stable/classes/class_audiostreamplayer.html#class-audiostreamplayer-method-get-playback-position

Maybe the code is AudioStreamPlayer.get_playback_position(), that code line MIGHT give you the number you are looking for, maybe there is a similar one, for VideoStreamPlayer . .

It's a bit more complicated, VideoPlayer has this one . .

float stream_position
    Setter set_stream_position(value)
    Getter get_stream_position()

The current position of the stream, in seconds.

https://docs.godotengine.org/en/stable/classes/class_videoplayer.html