Godot for Research

namathosnamathos Posts: 2Member
edited March 25 in Programming

Hi,
I'm a design researcher and I've been using Godot to test out playable design artifacts. Very new to it all but learning along the way, especially since programmings not my strong point.

Before this whole Covid-19 situation happened, we had designed a physical card game to use in design workshops. We were testing it out but due to current situations aren't able to do 1-1 sessions with participants anymore. As a solution we considering on converting the card game into a digital online workshop of sorts. That way we can at least continue our project.

Here's what I have in mind:

• Participants logon through a web link
  • They go through a series of exercises using the card game
  • They input feedback along the way
  • Data they provide gets stored somewhere (had some success with this in earlier tries but haven't been able to do it on a server)
  • One or multiple facilitators are present as spectators in the game

Last too points are the most important for us. I've been looking around and I've seen some examples of multiplayer Godot games with lobbies, but the schematics isn't getting through to me yet. How would we go about this? Also we've had little success in saving game data online. So far only been able to save it to text files locally. Anyone have any experience with either of these cases?

As researchers we ideally would like to keep it all open source as well. I know about Nakama and it's recently been implemented for Godot, but I haven't found much information around using it.

Any kind of advice would be highly appreciated.

Tags :

Comments

• BinskBinsk Posts: 14Member
    edited March 25

On my phone so this won't be super detailed.

Data they provide gets stored somewhere (had some success with this in earlier tries but haven't been able to do it on a server)