Beginner at Godot. What to learn?

DevinationDevination Posts: 1Member

Good evening fellow developers,

I am completely new to Godot and new to the C# language, which I heard can be used in this engine. Where should I start as far as using the application is concerned? Do I have to know both C# and Godot's Script in order to use this application?

Are there tutorials available exactly how to use Godot, as well as a in-depth reference material(API)?

Any also on Animation and Artwork?

Tags :

Answers

• cyberealitycybereality Posts: 927Moderator

Hello and welcome!

I would recommend starting with GDScript as a beginner. It will be somewhat easier to learn and support is very good in the engine (built-in IDE, code highlighting and completion. etc.). You don't have to use C#, in fact it comes as a separate download and I would say you can ignore this if you are starting out and just download the normal version of the editor.

The Godot docs are here. I would recommend reading all of these articles, but feel free to click around and search afterwards.
    https://docs.godotengine.org/en/3.1/getting_started/step_by_step/index.html

You can also buy the book. It's written by one of the creators of Godot and is very good for beginners.
    https://www.amazon.com/Godot-Engine-Development-Hours-Yourself-ebook-dp-B07BFDQFL9/dp/B07BFDQFL9/

Cheers.

• jbrooks79jbrooks79 Posts: 2,241Premoderated