Block Rush

BinskBinsk Posts: 18Member
edited July 16 in Projects

Block Rush [beta]
Play it any any of these sites:
Upset Baby Games
Itch.IO
Newgrounds (Supports Newground medals)

Goodness! It has been forever since I actually tried making a game and this is the first actual game I have made using the Godot engine, pong and asteroid clones aside.

So I've wanted to just make a fast-paced high difficulty arcade game for a while and this is what came of it. Apologies for the crap music / sounds; I'm a programmer not a SFX artist / composer. First time for everything. :P

The goal of the game is to climb as high as you can before the lava reaches you. Hitting blocks in mid-air solidifies them as platforms and gives you points and an extra jump. The further you go the more types of blocks / spawning methods the game will throw at you; as well 'powerups' and the like.

The game has a small number of achievements and an unlockable extra game mode. I'm looking for feedback here. If you think the game could do with something more, needs something changed, or whatever please let me know!

Screenshots

Tags :

Comments

• cyberealitycybereality Posts: 925Moderator

Love the clean look.

It was really hard to play though. I mean, I liked it, but I felt like I was struggling with the controls. When I was moving to the side during a jump, it seemed difficult to land on a specific tile. Also the way it disabled controls when falling was odd to me.

Overall I think the concept is good but maybe find a way to make the controls more responsive and intuitive.

• BinskBinsk Posts: 18Member

@cybereality said:
    Love the clean look.

It was really hard to play though. I mean, I liked it, but I felt like I was struggling with the controls. When I was moving to the side during a jump, it seemed difficult to land on a specific tile. Also the way it disabled controls when falling was odd to me.