GUI in 3D Scene

fkrickfkrick Posts: 2Member

Hi folks,

i am new to godot and this forum :D

Currently i am working on a small game in 3D that requried an menu displayed on a mesh, so far i know that can be done in godot.
But i am struggeling a bit i use these great demo: https://github.com/godotengine/godot-demo-projects/tree/3.0-d69cc10/viewport/gui_in_3d

But if i scale the the node "Quad" and the CollisionSpae inside the Area than the raycast return the wrong cooardinates for the Viewport, how i can handel this issue and why thats happen ?

If you need any example code, i just use the demo and try to modify the scale fomr "Quad" and the collisionShape

best, Flo

Answers

• MegalomaniakMegalomaniak Posts: 3,997Admin
    edited January 2019

Apparently you are not the only one with this issue:
    https://github.com/godotengine/godot-demo-projects/issues/294

@GarromOrcShaman You figure this out, or it remained an issue without solution/work around?

• fkrickfkrick Posts: 2Member

Oh, nice to know :) put a Notifications-Subscription on this git issue.

thanks Megalomaniak :)

best, Flo

edited January 2019

OK, so I took a closer look at the demo.

Strictly speaking for what you want to do you should be creating your quad in code to the exact shape and size you want at that exact moment, same basically goes for that viewport. So you can then create a viewport of resolution/size that will fit the size of the quad you have created according to the needs that are defined by the specific menu you are intent on creating.

Each menu itself should be a scene of it's own you instance under the viewport then in turn. So the good news here is you can create the menus themselves through the editor rather than code.